Youth Lagoon

I am sorry to be writing about old music. I will do that a lot.

Youth Lagoon is the stage name (I guess, if you want to call it that) of a college student from Idaho or something named Trevor Powers, a name that reminds me of Timmy Turner from the Fairly Odd Parents.

Image

 I like the earnestness of it Youth Lagoon more than anything else. The careful patience. The hesitation, the not saying too much too soon. I mean, The Year of Hibernation isn’t perfect, but it’s the imperfection that can make it perfect to listen to at just the right times.

Trevor Powers said in an interview that he suffers from severe anxiety. The music doesn’t sound anxious, but certainly like an anxious person slowly recovering, being their self again.

He also said that he likes the Cocteau Twins, a character trait I admire in anyone.

Leave a Reply

